Russia retaliates with sanctions against 13 Canadians

by Reuters
Monday, 24 March 2014 14:55 GMT

MOSCOW, March 24 (Reuters) - Russia announced on Monday that it was barring 13 Canadian officials, lawmakers and public figures from the country in retaliation for sanctions imposed by Canada over Russia's annexation of Crimea.

The Canadians prohibited from entering Russia include aides to Prime Minister Stephen Harper and members of parliament and the head of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress, Paul Grod, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement. (Writing by Steve Gutterman)

Our Standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.