FACTBOX-98th annual Pulitzer Prizes are awarded

by Reuters
Monday, 14 April 2014 21:56 GMT

NEW YORK, April 14 (Reuters) - Columbia University announced on Monday the winners of the 98th annual Pulitzer Prizes, among the most prestigious recognitions for achievement in U.S. journalism and the arts. The following are the winners in each category: JOURNALISM: PUBLIC SERVICE - Guardian US, The Washington Post JOURNALISM: BREAKING NEWS REPORTING - Boston Globe staff JOURNALISM: INVESTIGATIVE REPORTING - Chris Hamby, The Center for Public Integrity JOURNALISM: EXPLANATORY REPORTING - Eli Saslow, The Washington Post JOURNALISM: LOCAL REPORTING - Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia, Tampa Bay Times JOURNALISM: NATIONAL REPORTING - David Philipps, The Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colorado JOURNALISM: INTERNATIONAL REPORTING - Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall, Reuters JOURNALISM: FEATURE WRITING - No award JOURNALISM: COMMENTARY - Stephen Henderson, Detroit Free Press JOURNALISM: CRITICISM - Inga Saffron, Philadelphia Inquirer JOURNALISM: EDITORIAL WRITING - The Oregonian, Portland JOURNALISM: EDITORIAL CARTOONING - Kevin Siers, Charlotte Observer JOURNALISM: BREAKING NEWS PHOTOGRAPHY - Tyler Hicks, The New York Times JOURNALISM: FEATURE PHOTOGRAPHY - Josh Haner, The New York Times LETTERS: FICTION - "The Goldfinch," by Donna Tartt (Little, Brown) LETTERS: DRAMA - "The Flick," by Annie Baker LETTERS: HISTORY - "The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832," by Alan Taylor (W.W. Norton) LETTERS: BIOGRAPHY - "Margaret Fuller: A New American Life," by Megan Marshall (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) LETTERS: POETRY - "3 Sections," by Vijay Seshadri LETTERS: GENERAL NONFICTION - "Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation," by Dan Fagin (Bantam Books) MUSIC - "Become Ocean," by John Luther Adams (Compiled by Ellen Wulfhorst, editing by G Crosse)

Latest News
Comments Close
FACTBOX-98th annual Pulitzer Prizes are awarded

We welcome comments that advance the story through relevant opinion, anecdotes, links and data. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of the Thomson Reuters Foundation. For more information see our Acceptable Use Policy.

comments powered by Disqus