Banerjee, Duflo and Kremer win 2019 Nobel economics prize

by Reuters
Monday, 14 October 2019 09:56 GMT

STOCKHOLM, Oct 14 (Reuters) - Economists Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer won the 2019 Nobel Economics Prize for creating an experimental approach to alleviating global poverty, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on Monday.

"This year's Laureates have introduced a new approach to obtaining reliable answers about the best ways to fight global poverty," the academy said in statement.

The 9 million Swedish crown ($915,300) economics prize is a later addition to the five awards created in the will of industrialist and dynamite inventor Alfred Nobel, established by the Swedish central bank and first awarded in 1969.

($1 = 9.8328 Swedish crowns)

(Reporting by Niklas Pollard and Simon Johnson; additional reporting by Anna Ringstrom, Johannes Hellstrom, Johan Ahlander, Helena Soderpalm and Colm Fulton in Stockholm and Mark John in London; Editing by Toby Chopra)

Our Standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.